How a man on the Spectrum learns to live

Triple “A”!

A-OK!A-OK!A-OK!

Hi, everyone! It’s been a long time since my last post, but when you don’t have a direction to go in, you don’t have inspiration to write. But I’m here, and I’m not going to be talking about the Automobile Club! No, I’m talking about how I was able refocus and reenergize my creative spirit.

A lot of great things happened to me last month; each one is a post unto itself. However, I can sum it up in three words: Acceptance, Aspiration, and Appreciation. Each word describes actions that I’ve taken on my journey with Autism, but I’ve noticed a significant difference this summer. Every action I’ve taken has brought me small successes that are adding up to larger ones. I’m not sure what they’ll be, but they will be greater than I can imagine.

“Acceptance” is defined as “the act of receiving willingly, answering affirmatively, and regarding as proper or true”. Lately I find myself at peace with life and that gives me the contentment of living one day at a time. I feel that the present moments are the best things for me to focus on. I’ve come to accept a new role as my mom’s protegé in our family business: “San Diego Scan and Share”. There were very few opportunities that inspired me when I graduated college. So, I decided that if I couldn’t find an opportunity, I’d make one instead! It’s one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. By expressing my desire to move forward, I was able to help jump-start this business and so far we’ve completed two projects. I look forward to being a part of the creative process.

“Aspiration” means “a strong desire for achievement; an ambition”. I’ve felt an aspiration to reach out to more people when I’m at conventions. I’ve gone to “geek” conventions since I was fresh out of high school. It wasn’t until I started writing this blog and speaking up about having Asperger’s Syndrome that I discovered a golden opportunity to get the word out about myself and what I stand for. I also realized that I’d be able to help others because of how I aspire to grow our family business so that we’ll be able to employ people on the Spectrum. I believe that San Diego Scan and Share is a chance to give other “Aspies” what they need most of all: courage, dignity, a sense of purpose, and respect. This will be more than a job opportunity, this will be a business that redefines what it means to live with Autism. My greatest aspiration is to be a positive force for change and evolution for people living on the Autism Spectrum.

“Appreciation” is described as “to recognize the quality, significance, or magnitude of. To be fully aware of; to realize and to be thankful for”. I’ve learned to appreciate a lot of different things on my journey with Autism, including the power of connection. I’ve had several different people provide me with different perspectives on things I thought I knew. By taking in their words with a grain of salt, I continue to grow and learn while remembering who I am at my core. Some of my best lessons come from unexpected sources; it took me a long time to learn how to appreciate the wisdom that was gained, but I am grateful that I’m open to learning it.

I couldn’t have come as far as I have now without taking action and rearranging my perspectives with these three “A” words. As San Diego Scan and Share grows, I’ll use my blog to promote it with our mission statement. As I continue to grow on my journey, I hope to continue touching people’s lives with my words and observations of life with Asperger’s Syndrome. I’m glad to be writing once again; I’ve found my rhythm and I thank you for all of your support and encouragement.

Today’s musical inspiration is Gloria Estefan with “Rhythm is Gonna Get You”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3A7CVrBFC7M

Leave a Reply

