How a man on the Spectrum learns to live

Everybody Has a Dream

"We are not makers of history, we are made by history"-Martin Luther King, Jr. (http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/martinluth115052.html#ldIZhbUdtrHucE1x.99)

“We are not makers of history, we are made by history”-Martin Luther King, Jr.
(http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/martinluth115052.html#ldIZhbUdtrHucE1x.99)

Hello, everyone.

I hope this first month of 2013 is going well for you.  I admit, I’ve had my ups and downs, but life wouldn’t be as rich without them, right?  Well after an eventful and uplifting weekend, I am climbing out of the latest bout of depression I’ve been dealing with and remembering that I have a purpose.

On this special day, as America honors the legacy and gifts of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., I pause to reflect on my feelings about the man and his dream.  His was a dream and vision of freedom & justice for not just one race of people, but for the entire human race.  Dr. King believed that all of humanity had amazing potential for greatness.  I have also learned to believe in a similar dream.  The knowledge I have gained from the lives of activists has shaped my desire to create a better world.  The gratitude I have for the timeless legacies of visionaries like Dr. King is more than I can put into words.

My dream is to continue being a living example of what life can become when you’re born on the Autism Spectrum.  I know in my heart that I want to change the world by speaking out for truth and knowledge.  More and more people are aware that children on the Spectrum can be helped with many new and different resources.  But, what happens when those kids become teenagers and adults?  Well that is the core of my dream.  I am doing my best to show the world what an adult on the Spectrum can look like.  It hasn’t been an easy road, but I am grateful for all I’ve learned on the journey; I feel in my heart that my influence will be greater than I can imagine.

On this day, I give thanks for the eternal hope of visionaries like Dr. King.  They have inspired me to reach for my own dream.  I have come so far in life and just like humanity, I’ve got further to go.  I thank all of you for your continued support; may you continue to reach for your own dreams.

Comments on: "Everybody Has a Dream" (6)

  1. Cherri Cary said:

    I admire your commitment to the younger generation of individuals with ASD and the trail that you are blazing for them as you make your way in the world as an adult. Your thoughtfulness and candor show us a devotion to not only your own self improvement, but following the example of Dr. King, the betterment of your community as well. I just wanted you to know that as the parent of a young teen, I recognize and appreciate your efforts.

  2. All the libraries were closed for Martin Luther King day! I don’t think Martin Luther King would like that…

  3. Appreciating the hard work you put into your website and in depth information you present. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

