How a man on the Spectrum learns to live

Voice of a Heavy Heart

To all of my readers,

I’m sure that many of you are aware that a horrible act of violence and murder has cast a shadow over this country.  26 innocent children and adults in Newtown, Connecticut were shot to death in an elementary school by a madman who then took his own life.  I feel a deep sense of loss for all the lives so tragically cut short, and the pain I feel is only a fraction of that felt by those who have been directly affected.

What is even more painful is the fact that the murderer may have been on the Autism Spectrum.  It hurts me to think that people who are uninformed will use this event as ammunition against an entire segment of the population by painting all children and young adults on the Spectrum, especially boys and men, with the same broad and hateful brushstroke.

When I learned of this, I swore that I would use my voice and my words to take a stand for what I feel is right.  To give in to assumptions, blame, and hatred is to taint the memory of the victims.  Michael John Carley, Executive Director of GRASP, the Global and Regional Asperger Syndrome Partnership, has released a statement regarding his feelings about the shootings: http://grasp.org/profiles/blogs/statement-from-michael-john-carley-on-the-newtown-ct-shootings

I ask for all of you to look within, and say a prayer to God in whatever way or form that God is seen and worshipped by you.  May that prayer be one of healing and forgiveness for all those in the midst of their grief.  For me no matter what happens, I feel that humanity has come so far, but still has a long way to go.  I will always have hope that we can be greater than we can ever imagine, and I will never lose faith in us as a human race.

In the words of James Taylor: “Shower the people you love with love, and show them the way that you feel”.  May you all find the courage to heal your hearts and never take your loved ones for granted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rm-bfASKGPE&list=UUhP13IRSIGc2xhQMNE-c4mQ&index=21

With Love and Condolences,

Anthony

Comments on: "Voice of a Heavy Heart" (6)

  1. I saw and I thought the same thing. I might be on the autism spectrum but I am as far from violent as one can get. I am afraid to even touch knives, let alone guns. I am very inhibited when it comes to doing anything physical, but I still have the slightest tinge of a fear when I think of the awful things I could do with a weapon if I wanted to. Which I wouldn’t want to, because I am very disinclined to be violent.

    • I see…you know, I’ve struggled at times to use my own physical strength because I am quite tall and imposing. However, by acknowledging the dark side of me, I prevent doing harm to the light that shines within. May you find a way to let your light shine.

      Tony

    • It’s a good thing to know yourself…how you get others to know you is another matter entirely, but I hope I can show you in this brave new year. Thanks for the input.

  2. As always…good job Tony!

Leave a Reply

