How a man on the Spectrum learns to live

I definitely slept well last night, even with the trains going by the road all night.  If I didn’t love the history and feeling of traveling on trains so much, I wouldn’t have woken up very happy!  Well, I was able to get up, make my own breakfast and fell a sense of satisfaction about having bought extra non-perishables; it definitely saves me a lot of money eating out.  I only have to eat out once a day, and maybe not at all if I’m lucky.

Well, my 1st impulse was to locate the nearest freeway to head west.  After I left Indio, I found myself passing through Desert Hot Springs and Palm Springs: 2 more famous places to visit in the Coachella Valley.  I’ll have to come back some time to enjoy the natural surroundings and hot mineral baths.

I remember driving through Coachella with family as a kid.  That was the first time I had ever seen wind farms in action.  I think it’s pretty cool watching those giant 2 or 3-bladed wind turbines generating power where the wind always blows.  Trust me when I say that the wind is always blowing in the high desert area.  That’s probably why so many more turbines have been built in the past 15 years; really makes me hopeful that we humans are moving towards renewable energy resources.

Later, I found myself near the western end of the Mother Road, itself: Route 66.  I was able to determine that I would be above the summit where the original road was if I went up the famous Cajon Pass.  So, I drove to Barstow, and found my way down the original Route 66, all the while, the famous song was playing in my head.  I was so absorbed with the feeling of history of the road that for so long connected people from Chicago to Los Angeles, that I was driving like there was no tomorrow.

A funny thing happened on the way back to town.  I passed by Helendale and remembered that there was a supposed to be the very kitschy Exotic World Museum out in the area.  I took a detour and went to see for myself.  I found it, alright: the ruins of it anyway.  I later discovered that the place was closed over a year ago and is going to be reopened at a yet unknown location.  Ah, well, such is life!

I glided back down the San Gabriel Mountains to Loma Linda, where I found a motel in south San Bernadino that I could spend the night at.  I ended up eating lunch at a place called Delhi Palace.  It was a nice little Indian restaurant with a good lunch and dinner buffet that was very satisfying.

I was even able to strike up a conversation with a family of 5 that sat in the booth next to me.  It was a nice married couple with 2 daughters and 1 son; they seemed to like music and singing, and even mentioned to me that their experience interacting with people on the Autism Spectrum has been very little.  So, before I left, I gave them one of my business cards with my blessings.

I enjoy reaching out to people; it reminds me that everyone has a story in this life.  I hope that my story becomes an inspiration for other people who read it; this is what I’m going to use to change the world.

Comments on: "Journal of an Aspie: 7/14/2011" (2)

  1. Awesome!! It sounds like you’re having a great time 🙂

  2. stephanie garcia said:

    Watching the wind turbines is one of my favorite parts of driving to Palm Springs! Terry and I were just there in June. You definitely are changing the world one blog at a time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

